S4 Basics

The four cornerstones of Start Smart Stay Safe (S4) guide the lessons that children experience at school and at home.

These cornerstones originated from the Circle of Courage (an Aboriginal perspective on raising a child), which focuses on children’s needs and teaching the whole child. Each of the four cornerstones (Significance, Self-Awareness, Success and Service) teach children about their unique talents and abilities, and how they can work together with their families, police and schools to face today’s challenges.

As children find success in each cornerstone they feel better about themselves and make positive choices to make their community safe.

More About S4

What does it mean to be Strengths Based?

Watch Video

Understanding Resilience

Watch Video